Verified against the official pages on October 17, 2026.
This is the complete guide to the American-side operator. If you are comparing it with the Canadian tour, read Maid of the Mist versus Niagara City Cruises and the master guide to Niagara Falls boat tours. The figures below come from the operator's FAQ, its schedule and pricing page, the 2026 press release and Niagara Falls State Park. We have not ridden the boat, so this page reports what the operator says.
The tour and the route
The operator says the tour lasts 20 minutes and passes the American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and Horseshoe Falls. The state park describes the route as past the base of the American Falls and into the basin of the Horseshoe Falls, on a double-deck boat. Seating is on the upper and lower decks, away from the edges. The tour departs from and returns to the American side, so there is no border crossing on the ride itself.
Departures are scheduled every 15 minutes through the day, seven days a week, including holidays. The boats run rain or shine, and there is no enclosed area. The operator also launched a Wait Times Trends and Insights feature on its website for 2026, which shows typical wait patterns by day. We did not see its data, so we cannot quote it.
The voucher and first-come boarding model
This is the part that surprises people. There are no date or time reservations.
- Online tickets are emailed vouchers valid on any day of the 2026 season.
- A voucher must be exchanged for a boarding ticket at the ticket booth.
- Boarding is first come, first served, and that includes people who bought online.
- In-person tickets are valid only on the day of purchase.
- Only official tickets and vouchers are accepted. The company says it does not endorse third-party tour companies or online resellers.
What the operator's wording means: online ticket holders board first come, first served like everyone else, so a voucher is not a reserved time. Because it is valid any day of the season, you choose the day. Compare with the timed slots at Niagara City Cruises, and see wait times and tickets for the planning side. At the booth, payment is cash, Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express; personal cheques are not accepted. The ticket office opens 30 minutes before the first departure and closes 15 minutes before the last.

2026 hours by period
Built from the operator's schedule and pricing page. Every block opens at 9 am. The page lists the boats as closed from January 1 to April 23 and from November 9 until Opening Day 2027.
| Period (2026) | Opens | Closes | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 24 to May 18 | 9 am | 5 pm daily | |
| May 19 to May 22 | 9 am | 6 pm daily | |
| May 23 to May 24 | 9 am | 8 pm daily | Memorial Day weekend, Sat and Sun. |
| May 25 to Jun 21 | 9 am | 6 pm weekdays, 8 pm weekends | |
| Jun 22 to Aug 9 | 9 am | 8 pm daily | |
| Aug 10 to Aug 30 | 9 am | 7:30 pm daily | |
| Aug 31 to Sep 3 | 9 am | 5 pm (unconfirmed) | The operator page prints the closing time as '500'. Read as 5 pm, but unconfirmed. |
| Sep 4 to Sep 7 | 9 am | 7:15 pm Fri to Sun; 6 pm Mon | Labor Day weekend. |
| Sep 8 to Sep 27 | 9 am | 5 pm weekdays, 6 pm weekends | |
| Sep 28 to Oct 31 | 9 am | 5 pm daily | |
| Nov 1 to Nov 8 | 9 am | 4 pm daily |
Page typo. For August 31 to September 3 the operator page prints the closing time as '500'. We read it as 5 pm, which fits the surrounding blocks, but we cannot confirm it. Weekday and weekend closing times differ in two blocks: May 25 to June 21 (6 pm weekdays, 8 pm weekends) and September 8 to 27 (5 pm weekdays, 6 pm weekends). Use the season checker for a particular date, and read boat tours in October if you are travelling this month.
Prices and groups
| Ticket (2026, USD) | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Adult | US$30.25 | Includes the elevator to the landing |
| Child (6 to 12) | US$19.75 | |
| 5 and under | Free | With a paying adult |
| Senior, family, combo | None listed | The pricing page lists none |
| Group adult (20+) | US$27.25 | State park page |
| Group education, grades 1 to 8 | US$18.00 | Opening to June 30 and Sept 7 to Nov 8 |
| Group education, grades 9 to 12 | US$19.75 | Same dates |
Group terms from the state park page: one free ticket per 20 adults, one free chaperone per 15 students, and one adult per four children aged 5 and under. A family of two adults and two children would pay US$100.00 for tickets (2 x US$30.25 + 2 x US$19.75), before parking. The ticket also includes the observation deck over the gorge, with views of all three falls, per the FAQ. The Observation Tower elevator and deck are open to all visitors and a boat ticket is not required for them, per the state park. A third-party claim of a $1.25 tower fee that is waived with a boat ticket is not confirmed officially. See boat tour prices for comparisons.
Boarding at the Observation Tower
Boarding begins at the Observation Tower in Niagara Falls State Park, at Prospect Point. The ticket booths are at street level by the tower. From there an elevator takes you to the landing at the base of the gorge, and the elevator is included in the ticket price. The park address is 304 Prospect St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303; the phone is +1 716-278-1794. The directions page uses the address 1 Prospect St and points to Visitor Center Parking Lot 1. Before boarding you receive a free hooded rain poncho, which the state park calls a souvenir poncho. The official pages do not state its colour, so we do not either.
The state park's Observation Tower page notes that the far end of the tower was temporarily closed and a Crow's Nest staircase was under construction. The page's hours appear stale (May only), and we do not know the status in October 2026.
Parking
| Lot | Address | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lot 1, Prospect Point | 333 Prospect St | Mar 1 to May 21: $10 daily. May 22 to Oct 11: $10 Mon to Thu, $15 Fri to Sun. Oct 12, 2026 to Mar 31, 2027: $10 daily | Autos only, year round, closest to the Welcome Center and the Maid |
| Lot 2, Goat Island | 15 Goat Island Loop Rd | Same fees as Lot 1 | Best for Cave of the Winds |
| Lot 3, Goat Island | 50 Goat Island Rd | Cars $10 Fri to Mon and holidays, 8:30 to 5, May 22 to Sep 7, 2026; free Tue to Thu. RVs $20, tour buses $35 | Maid FAQ suggests Goat Island lots plus a walk or the Niagara Scenic Trolley |
| Lot 4, Great Lakes 360 | 540 Discovery Way | Seasonal, no established fee |
Keep your receipt for same-day re-entry if space is available. Lots fill early on Fridays, weekends and holidays; the state park suggests GPS 10 Rainbow Blvd or downtown city lots as backups. The trolley and NFTA bus details were not verified from primary sources. See the state park guide, boat tour parking and getting to Niagara Falls.
Strollers, animals and accessibility
- Strollers: the operator recommends leaving them in the stroller parking provided and picking them up after the tour.
- Service animals: trained service dogs are welcome under the ADA.
- Emotional support animals: not service animals under the ADA; reviewed case by case on arrival.
- Pets: not permitted.
- ADA: facilities, including the boats, are described as fully ADA accessible, and wheelchairs are permitted on board.
- Age: no age restrictions.
- Wi-Fi: free throughout the Niagara Falls State Parks.
See accessibility and Niagara Falls with kids.
How wet will you get?
The operator says yes: even with the complimentary hooded poncho you may still get wet, and the lower rear deck tends to be driest. Visitor accounts reported by third-party blogs say legs and feet get the worst of it, but that is anecdote, and we do not publish a best-side rule, a fog frequency or a water temperature. Read do you get wet and what to wear.
The boats
Two all-electric boats, James V. Glynn and Nikola Tesla, carry up to 600 passengers each per the FAQ. The 2026 press release says the James V. Glynn was christened in 2020 and that both boats carry America250 decals this year. The FAQ gives the 600-passenger capacity. Further specifications are from Baird Maritime, a secondary source; the full story is on the electric boats page. Numbered names such as 'VII' belong to the earlier diesel boats.
History headlines
| Year | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1846 | The first Maid of the Mist is christened as a river ferry; the company says it carried stagecoaches and horses. The launch date varies by source | Maid history page; conflicts noted |
| 1861 | Captain Joel Robinson runs the boat through the gorge rapids after it is sold; Brock University gives June 6, 1861 | Maid history page; Brock University |
| 1885 | A new Maid launches on June 13 | Maid history page |
| 1971 | James V. Glynn becomes president (Wikipedia, a secondary source, adds that the Glynn family has owned the company since) | Maid history page and press release; Wikipedia |
| 2012 to 2013 | Maid of the Mist loses the Ontario contract and its last Canadian day is in October 2013; it operates on the US side only | News reports (CTV and others) |
| 2020 | Two electric boats arrive; James V. Glynn is christened | Maid history page; press release |
| Dec 28, 2025 | Chairman James V. Glynn dies at 91; 2026 is the first season since 1950 without him | 2026 press release |
The 141st-season count is the company's own; it does not map to 1846 or obviously to 1885, so we attribute it to the company. See the full history of Niagara Falls boat tours and the explainer on the Canadian contract change.
What is not published
The operator's pages did not state: poncho colour (reported blue, not stated officially); refund and rain-check policy; bag, umbrella and tripod rules; restrooms; infant and car-seat rules; 2027 season dates. Ask at the booth or contact the operator for these. The 2026 season ends on November 8 and 2027 dates are not announced; spring opening depends on Lake Erie ice, per the state park.
If you are X, do Y
- You are visiting in the last weeks: go before 4 pm from November 1, and check the weather that morning.
- You bought a voucher: bring it to the booth and expect to queue like everyone else.
- You arrive Friday to Sunday: expect higher parking and an early lot fill.
- You have a stroller: plan to leave it in the stroller parking.
- You are staying in Canada: look at Niagara City Cruises and the border guide first.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the Maid of the Mist ride?
The Maid of the Mist tour takes 20 minutes according to the operator's FAQ. The boats pass the American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and Horseshoe Falls and end in the basin of the Horseshoe Falls. Allow extra time for the ticket booth, the Observation Tower elevator and queueing, which the operator does not publish.
Do I need a reservation or a specific time?
No. Online tickets are emailed vouchers that are valid any day of the 2026 season and must be exchanged for a boarding ticket at the booth. There are no date or time reservations, and boarding is first come, first served, including for online ticket holders. Departures are scheduled every 15 minutes.
How much does Maid of the Mist cost in 2026?
The 2026 fares are US$30.25 for adults and US$19.75 for children aged 6 to 12; children 5 and under are free with a paying adult. The operator lists no senior or family price and no combo tickets. Prices include the elevator to the landing. We checked these on October 17, 2026.
When does the 2026 season end?
The 2026 season, the company's 141st, opened April 24 and runs through Sunday, November 8, 2026. From November 1 to 8 the boats run 9 am to 4 pm. The operator lists the boats as closed from November 9 until Opening Day 2027. The 2027 dates have not been announced.
Does Maid of the Mist run in the rain?
Yes. The FAQ says the boats operate rain or shine, seven days a week including holidays. There is no enclosed area. The FAQ also says you may still get wet while wearing the complimentary hooded poncho and that the lower rear deck tends to be driest. A refund or rain-check policy was not found.
Do I need a passport for Maid of the Mist?
No. The FAQ says no passport or ID is needed to ride, and the boat departs and returns on the American side. Reaching the US side from Canada is a border crossing with its own document rules, which are covered in our border guide. The operator also states there are no age restrictions.
Where do I park for Maid of the Mist?
Lot 1 at Prospect Point, 333 Prospect St, is closest. Fees: Mar 1 to May 21, $10 daily; May 22 to Oct 11, $10 Monday to Thursday and $15 Friday to Sunday; Oct 12, 2026 to Mar 31, 2027, $10 daily. Lot 2 on Goat Island has the same fees. Lots fill early on Fridays, weekends and holidays.
Are the boats wheelchair accessible?
The FAQ says Maid of the Mist facilities, including the boats, are fully ADA accessible and that wheelchairs are allowed on board. Boarding starts at the Observation Tower, where an elevator carries guests to the landing. Seating layout, stair counts and accessible restrooms were not found on the pages checked.
Are service animals and pets allowed?
Trained service dogs are welcome under the ADA. Emotional support animals are not ADA service animals and are reviewed case by case on arrival by onsite management. Pets are not permitted on the vessels. Strollers should be left in the stroller parking provided and collected after the tour.
Are the boats really electric?
Yes. The 2026 press release names two all-electric boats, James V. Glynn and Nikola Tesla. The FAQ says two 600-passenger boats operate. Technical details such as battery size come from a secondary source, Baird Maritime, and are covered on our electric boats page.
Sources and further reading
- Maid of the Mist (official site)
- Maid of the Mist: FAQ
- Maid of the Mist: schedule and pricing
- Maid of the Mist: 2026 season press release
- Maid of the Mist: history
- Maid of the Mist: directions and parking
- Niagara Falls State Park: Maid of the Mist
- Niagara Falls State Park: Observation Tower
- Niagara Falls State Park: parking
- Baird Maritime: Maid of the Mist electric boats
- Brock University exhibit: the Maid of the Mist
Facts were last checked against these sources on October 17, 2026. Operator schedules, prices and conditions change; confirm with the operator before you travel.
