Independent guide to Niagara Falls boat tours, Canada & USAFacts verified October 17, 2026
Comparison

Maid of the Mist vs Niagara City Cruises: Which Boat in 2026?

A sourced, side-by-side look at the two Niagara Falls boats, with a dollar-for-dollar conversion and a verdict by traveller type.

Tour boat and a rainbow below the Horseshoe Falls
Short answerMaid of the Mist (USA, US$30.25 adult) and Niagara City Cruises' Voyage to the Falls (Canada, from C$47.95 plus tax) are separate companies on a near-identical 20-minute route. Pick by your side of the border. Maid of the Mist is cheaper and uses first-come boarding; Canada sells timed tickets and offers evening sailings.

Verified against the official pages on October 17, 2026.

How to read this comparison

This page compares the 2026 published facts for both operators, from their own pages first and from secondary sources only where we mark them. Canada prices are in Canadian dollars before 13% HST; US prices are in US dollars. Both boats are covered in more depth in the Niagara City Cruises guide and the Maid of the Mist guide, and the master guide is Niagara Falls boat tours. Checked October 17, 2026.

A Niagara Falls tour boat full of passengers on the churning river
A falls tour boat with passengers on deck. Photo: Remington Wigzell / Unsplash

Side-by-side table: the 2026 facts

Niagara City Cruises (Canada)Maid of the Mist (USA)
OperatorNiagara City Cruises (product: Voyage to the Falls). Formerly Hornblower Niagara CruisesMaid of the Mist. Operator says 2026 is its 141st consecutive season
Country and boardingCanada. Lower Landing in the gorge, entered from the Main Ticket Plaza, 5920 Niagara Parkway, Niagara Falls, ONUSA. Observation Tower, Niagara Falls State Park; booths at street level, elevator to the landing
Ride lengthAbout 20 minutesAbout 20 minutes
Route (operator wording)Niagara Gorge, American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls, then Horseshoe FallsPast the American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and into the Horseshoe Falls basin
FrequencyFrom May 1: every 30 minutesScheduled about every 15 minutes
Ticket modelTimed slots. Mobile tickets scan; no printing neededEmailed voucher valid any 2026 day, exchanged at the booth. No date or time reservation. Booth tickets valid on the day of purchase only
Boarding orderSlot-based, but in peak season departure may not be inside the slot because of line-upsFirst come, first served, including online ticket holders
Adult price (2026)from C$47.95 (about C$54.18 with 13% HST)US$30.25
Child price (2026)C$32.95, ages 3 to 12 (Niagara Parks); C$27.95 on one tourism listingUS$19.75, ages 6 to 12
Infants and toddlersOperator: every rider including infants needs a ticket. Niagara Parks lists 2 and under as free5 and under free with a paying adult
Senior, student, family discountsNone (operator FAQ). No gift cardsNone listed on the pricing page
TaxPrices exclude 13% HSTNot stated on the pages we checked
2026 seasonOpened May 1 after ice. No closing date published. December sailings weather-dependentApril 24 to November 8, 2026
Hours (2026)9:30 am to 6:30 pm from May 1; extended hours from May 15 not published9:00 am opening. Close: 8:00 pm June 22 to Aug 9; 5:00 pm Sep 28 to Oct 31; 4:00 pm Nov 1 to 8
FleetNiagara Wonder and Niagara Thunder, catamarans (secondary source: double-deck, about 700 passengers each; the official site says only state-of-the-art catamarans)Two all-electric boats, James V. Glynn and Nikola Tesla. Capacity 600 each (operator FAQ and Baird Maritime)
IncludedComplimentary recyclable mist poncho; English audio commentaryFree hooded rain poncho; elevator to the landing; observation deck with views of all three falls
Onboard coverOpen-air and covered viewing areasNo enclosed area. Lower rear deck tends to be driest
AccessibilityOperator: fully accessible, AODA-compliant ramp and elevators, interior fits wheelchairs and strollersOperator: facilities including boats are fully ADA accessible. Stair count and on-board seating details are not published
Refunds and changesNon-refundable unless Ticket Assurance was bought; reschedule needs 48 hours' notice; Ticket Assurance allows change up to 2 hours beforeNo refund or rain-check policy found. Boats run rain or shine
Night and fireworksFalls Fireworks Cruise, about 40 minutes, select evenings, from C$47.95. After sunset, outer edge onlyNone in published hours
ParkingNo lot of its own. Operator directions list the SkyWheel lot (4960 Clifton Hill) and the Fallsview lot (6650 Niagara Parkway), with a flat daily fee not published. Niagara Parks Rainbow Bridge lot is C$12.00 per hourState Park Lot 1 (333 Prospect St): US$10.00 daily from Oct 12, 2026; in summer US$10.00 Mon to Thu, US$15.00 Fri to Sun
StrollersSmall to mid-size infant strollers permitted; designated unsupervised stroller parking before boardingLeave strollers in the provided stroller parking and collect them after the tour
BagsOne personal item up to 17.8 x 38.1 x 40.6 cm per the ticket page; another page says small backpacks up to 16 x 20 in. Pages conflictNot published on the pages we checked
BorderIn Canada. Visitors from the USA cross to reach itIn the USA. No passport or ID to board; Canada-based visitors cross to reach it
On land nearbyClifton Hill, Table Rock and Journey Behind the Falls, Skylon, SkyWheel, Queen Victoria Park, falls illuminationObservation Tower, Niagara Falls State Park, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds

Sources: operator FAQs, ticket and schedule pages (see the list below), Niagara Parks and Niagara Falls State Park pages, and for fleet capacity on the Canadian side the secondary source Wikipedia. Everything marked unpublished is a gap in the operator's own pages, not a negative claim about the boat.

Route and ride: what is actually different

Both rides end in the same place, the basin at the foot of the Horseshoe Falls, and both take about 20 minutes. The route wording differs slightly. The Canadian operator lists the gorge, then the American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and Horseshoe Falls. The US operator says its tour passes all three falls. Independent visitor accounts conclude the two rides are near-identical and that the practical differences are the boats, the seating and cover, and the Canadian night sailings. They do not agree on which boat wins, and the strongest conclusion is "pick by side".

The US boats have no enclosed area, according to Maid of the Mist. The Canadian operator describes open-air and covered viewing areas. We cannot tell you from sources how much drier the covered areas keep you, so we do not promise it. See do you get wet.

Price: a dollar-for-dollar comparison

The two fares are in different currencies, so a fair comparison needs a rate. We do not publish live exchange rates. For an illustrative conversion, we use the Rainbow Bridge's posted car toll, which is US$6.00 or C$8.50. That gives a ratio of 1.417 Canadian dollars per US dollar. This is a toll-booth ratio, not today's exchange rate. Check a bank or card rate for a real budget. Our trip cost calculator lets you enter your own rate.

ItemMaid of the MistNiagara City CruisesDifference
Adult, published fareUS$30.25C$47.95n/a (different currencies)
Adult in C$ (toll ratio)C$42.85C$47.95Canada about C$5.10 more before tax
Adult in C$, Canada with 13% HSTC$42.85C$54.18Canada about C$11.33 more, if US fare is tax-inclusive
Adult in US$ (toll ratio)US$30.25US$33.85 before tax; US$38.24 with HSTCanada about US$3.60 more before tax
Child in C$ (toll ratio)C$27.98C$32.95 before tax; C$37.23 with HSTChild age bands differ: 6 to 12 vs 3 to 12

Price per minute on the water

Both operators say the ride is about 20 minutes. Dividing the adult fare by 20 gives a rough price per minute. It treats the whole sailing as on-water time, which flatters neither boat, and it ignores the close-up share of the ride, which is not published.

MeasureMaid of the MistNiagara City Cruises
Adult fare per minute, own currencyUS$1.51 per minuteC$2.40 per minute before tax, C$2.71 with HST
Adult fare per minute, US$ at toll ratioUS$1.51US$1.69 before tax, US$1.91 with HST
Fireworks cruise per minute (about 40 min)n/aC$1.20 per minute before tax, using the C$47.95 starting fare

On this arithmetic the Canadian daytime ride costs about US$0.18 more per minute in US dollars before tax. The fireworks cruise is about 40 minutes for the same published starting price, so on a per-minute basis it is the cheaper ride on offer. That is a calculation, not a recommendation: you are buying different experiences.

Costs beyond the ticket matter as well. Parking at State Park Lot 1 is US$10.00 a day from October 12, 2026. In Canada, the Niagara Parks Rainbow Bridge lot is C$12.00 per hour and Rapidsview Lot C is C$10.00 per day with a shuttle. See boat tour parking.

A tour boat approaching the mist at Niagara Falls
A smaller tour boat approaching the mist. Photo: Olivier Guillard / Unsplash

Tickets and season: the structural differences

Maid of the Mist is flexible but unreserved. An online voucher works on any day of the season, and the booth ticket works only on the day you buy it. Because boarding is first come, first served, you can pick a day by weather without losing money, but you cannot buy a place in a particular boat. The company says its website has a wait-time trends feature for 2026.

Niagara City Cruises sells a fixed slot. That gives you a plan, but it also ties you to the clock, and refunds are tight: payments are non-refundable unless you bought Ticket Assurance, rescheduling for the amount paid needs 48 hours' notice, and tickets within 48 hours are non-refundable and non-transferable. Ticket Assurance lets you reschedule or cancel up to 2 hours before departure, less its own non-refundable cost, and is not offered on holiday, specialty or partnership cruises. Read the refund policy guide before you buy.

Season. Maid of the Mist stops on November 8, 2026. Niagara City Cruises has no published end date and says December sailings depend on weather. If you travel in the last week of the US season, hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.

Maid of the Mist 2026 hours, block by block

The US operator publishes hours in date blocks, all opening at 9:00 am. The Canadian operator publishes one pattern (every 30 minutes, 9:30 am to 6:30 pm from May 1) and says extended hours began May 15, without giving them. That is why this table has only one operator.

Dates (2026)Weekday closeWeekend closeNote
2026-04-24 to 2026-05-1817:0017:00
2026-05-19 to 2026-05-2218:0018:00
2026-05-23 to 2026-05-2420:0020:00Memorial Day weekend (Sat/Sun)
2026-05-25 to 2026-06-2118:0020:00
2026-06-22 to 2026-08-0920:0020:00
2026-08-10 to 2026-08-3019:3019:30
2026-08-31 to 2026-09-0317:0017:00operator page shows '500', read as 5:00 pm
2026-09-04 to 2026-09-0719:1519:15Labor Day weekend: Fri-Sun to 7:15 pm, Mon to 6:00 pm
2026-09-08 to 2026-09-2717:0018:00
2026-09-28 to 2026-10-3117:0017:00
2026-11-01 to 2026-11-0816:0016:00

The ticket office opens 30 minutes before the first departure and closes 15 minutes before the last. The page shows "500" for August 31 to September 3, which we read as 5:00 pm. The operator says schedules are subject to change without notice. Use the is the boat open today tool for a specific date.

What the day looks like at each dock

Both operators describe a descent to the water before you board. These are the published steps. Neither publishes how long each step takes.

Niagara City Cruises

  • Arrive at the Main Ticket Plaza, 5920 Niagara Parkway. Look for the large white sails next to the Zipline to the Falls tower.
  • Show your mobile ticket, or give your booking confirmation number at the Ticket Plaza if you cannot find it.
  • Pass security screening, then go down by an AODA-compliant ramp and elevators to the Lower Landing.
  • Board for your slot. For the fireworks cruise, the gates at the Lower Landing close 20 minutes before departure.

The operator also runs its own funicular from the foot of Clifton Hill to the dock, but access is at management's discretion and we could not confirm its current status. It is not the Niagara Parks Falls Incline Railway, which does not reach the dock.

Maid of the Mist

  • Go to the Observation Tower in Niagara Falls State Park. Ticket booths are at street level.
  • Exchange your emailed voucher for a boarding ticket at the booth, or buy a ticket there. Booth tickets are valid on the day of purchase only.
  • Take the elevator to the landing at the base of the gorge. The elevator is included in the ticket price.
  • Collect your poncho before boarding and board first come, first served.

Refund and change rules in practice

SituationNiagara City CruisesMaid of the Mist
You change your mind a week beforeRescheduling for the amount paid needs 48 hours' notice; the money is not refundedNo policy found. An unexchanged online voucher is valid any day of the season
You want to change the day of your visitWithin 48 hours: non-refundable and non-transferable, unless you bought Ticket AssuranceUse the voucher on another day of the season
You bought Ticket AssuranceReschedule or cancel up to 2 hours before departure, less the non-refundable cost of the assurance. Not offered on holiday, specialty or partnership cruisesNot applicable
You arrive lateNo compensation for no-shows or late arrivals; fireworks cruise gates close 20 minutes before departureFirst come, first served, so you join the line
Bad weatherCruises run only when conditions are safe; explicit refund wording not foundBoats run rain or shine; weather-cancellation policy not found

The practical lesson: with Canada, buy when your dates are firm. With Maid of the Mist, keep the voucher flexible, but accept the line. Our refund policy guide has the sources.

Why there are two companies

Maid of the Mist says its first boat was christened in 1846 as a river ferry, and that it began sightseeing after a suspension bridge hurt the ferry business in 1848. It ran from both sides of the border for generations. In February 2012 the Niagara Parks Commission awarded a Canadian-side lease to Hornblower Canada after competitive bidding. Maid of the Mist's last Canadian service was in October 2013 (sources give the 24th or the 26th), and Hornblower began Canadian service in 2014. The company then ran from the US side only. The history is in the history guide. That history is why, for the same falls, there are two boats, two prices and two sets of rules. The sources we used for the contract details are secondary summaries of news coverage, so treat the dates as indicative.

Fleet and capacity: what is sourced

Niagara City CruisesMaid of the Mist
BoatsNiagara Wonder and Niagara Thunder (names and type from Wikipedia and operator-linked sources)James V. Glynn and Nikola Tesla (operator press release)
CapacityAbout 700 each (secondary source; not on the official site)600 each (operator FAQ; also Baird Maritime)
PropulsionNot stated by the operator in our sourcesAll-electric (operator press release)
Source qualitySecondaryPrimary and a trade-press review

Capacity is not the same as how full a boat is on your sailing. Neither operator publishes load factors.

Accessibility, families and rules

Both operators call their boats accessible. Niagara City Cruises describes lifts and sloped access and a vessel interior designed for wheelchairs and strollers, with an AODA-compliant ramp and elevators to the Lower Landing. Maid of the Mist says its facilities, including its boats, are fully ADA accessible, and its elevator to the landing is included in the ticket price. Older Canadian accessibility wording that we saw only in search excerpts mentions designated seating, accessible washrooms on board and a limited number of loaner wheelchairs, and French-language wording lists a free ticket for a support person on the Voyage to the Falls. We treat those as unconfirmed for 2026 and suggest you call. Our accessibility guide holds the sourcing.

On animals, Maid of the Mist allows trained service dogs, treats emotional support animals case by case, and does not allow pets. Niagara City Cruises welcomes service animals and prohibits other animals. On strollers, see the table above. For young children see Niagara Falls with kids.

The border: the real deciding factor for many trips

If you are in the USA and want Maid of the Mist, you need no passport to board, and the whole visit stays in New York. If you are in Canada and want the Voyage to the Falls, the same holds in reverse. The complication is when you want the other country's boat or view. The Rainbow Bridge toll for a car is US$6.00 or C$8.50 and is collected one way, entering Canada. The pedestrian toll is US$1.00 or C$1.25, collected going into the US. The border crossing rules, documents and wait-time tools are on our border and passport guide. We do not list document requirements here because they depend on citizenship, and the official pages are the source to trust.

What each side offers on land

QuestionCanadian sideUS side
Free viewingQueen Victoria Park lawn and parapet wall; Niagara Parks calls it the best fireworks viewObservation Tower elevator and deck, open to all without a boat ticket (the tower page may be out of date; confirm status)
Paid attractions near the boatJourney Behind the Falls C$33.00 / C$21.50; Skylon C$18.00 / C$9.00; SkyWheel C$15.00 / C$7.00Cave of the Winds and Goat Island attractions (see the State Park guide; we do not list a price here because we have not verified one)
EveningFalls illumination nightly; fireworks nightly in season (2026 ended October 12)Not covered in our sources

See the things to do page for more, and the State Park guide for the US side.

What independent visitors say (qualitative only)

We have not ridden either boat. Instead we read operator pages, travel blogs, forum thread titles and reseller reviews. We could not read Reddit or TripAdvisor directly, and we found no verified current star rating, so we publish none. Our reading is qualitative, not a count.

Maid of the MistNiagara City Cruises
What visitors likeUp-close view of the Horseshoe Falls, guides, electric boats, easy elevator access, long historyNewer boats, a catamaran hull described as smoother, seating and an enclosed deck, timed departures, night options
What visitors dislikeGetting soaked, queues and slow boarding, no enclosed area, elevator bottlenecks on busy days, choppy for small childrenHigher price, strict 48-hour refund terms, peak-season line-ups despite timed tickets, wind and cold
OverallPositive. Regrets are mostly about preparation (wet, lines)Positive, with fewer candid independent accounts found; much coverage is promotional
How much to trust itTreat this as a limited evidence base. A handful of blogs and reseller reviews is not a survey.

Verdict by traveller type

  • Already in New York: Maid of the Mist. Cheaper at face value, no border crossing, flexible voucher.
  • Already in Ontario: Niagara City Cruises. No border crossing, and a timed ticket gives a fixed plan.
  • Want an evening cruise: Niagara City Cruises. Know that it goes only to the outer edge after sunset, and check dates.
  • Travelling in the first week of November: Maid of the Mist is open only to November 8, with 4:00 pm closing. Canada has no published closing date.
  • Want to ride only once and are flexible about the side: choose by the rest of your day, not by the boat. Our Canada vs USA page helps.
  • Budget-led: Maid of the Mist at face value. Check the total cost after parking and tolls.
  • Not sure the ride is for you: read is it worth it.

If you want help with the choice, use the boat tour chooser. If you are planning a day trip from Toronto without driving, see the Niagara Falls day tours. The boat is an optional paid add-on there, not part of the base price.

Hornblower, Voyage to the Falls and Niagara City Cruises: the names

Three names appear for the same Canadian boat service, and they confuse searchers. Voyage to the Falls is the name of the tour product. Niagara City Cruises is the current operator. Hornblower Niagara Cruises is the older name of the operator. The Hornblower business won the competitive bid for the Canadian-side tours in 2012 and began running them in 2014; listings give 2021 for the rename, which followed the parent company's move under the City Experiences banner, but we found no primary announcement. For the history see Hornblower Niagara Cruises, now Niagara City Cruises.

What the sources do not say

  • Maid of the Mist: refund and rain-check rules, bag and umbrella rules, restroom details, infant and car-seat rules, and 2027 dates.
  • Niagara City Cruises: 2026 closing date, extended hours after May 15, fireworks cruise dates, recommended check-in time, walk-up versus online price, parking prices at the dock lots and the washrooms on board.
  • Both: the length of the close-up segment of the ride, any left or right advantage on deck, and mist or fog frequency.
  • The conversion above uses a toll ratio, not a market exchange rate.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, Maid of the Mist or Niagara City Cruises?

Neither wins on every point. The rides are both about 20 minutes to the base of the Horseshoe Falls. Maid of the Mist is cheaper at face value and has first-come boarding. Niagara City Cruises sells timed tickets and offers Canadian evening sailings. Choose by your side of the border.

Is Maid of the Mist cheaper than the Canadian boat?

At face value, yes. Maid of the Mist is US$30.25 for adults and Niagara City Cruises starts at C$47.95 before 13% HST. At the Rainbow Bridge toll ratio of 1.417, which is illustrative only, that is about C$42.85 against C$47.95. Use a real exchange rate to budget.

Do I need to book Maid of the Mist in advance?

You do not need to reserve a time. Online tickets are emailed vouchers valid on any day of the 2026 season and must be exchanged at the booth. Boarding is first come, first served, so buying online does not secure a boarding time.

Does Niagara City Cruises require a timed ticket?

Yes. You choose a date and slot, and the operator says to arrive just before or within it. In peak season, from June to Labour Day, line-ups at the Lower Landing mean departure may not fall within your slot. Mobile tickets scan; no printing is needed.

Are the boats different sizes?

Maid of the Mist says it runs two 600-passenger boats. Niagara City Cruises' official site does not state capacity. A secondary source gives about 700 passengers each for its two double-deck catamarans. Treat that as unconfirmed. Neither fact tells you how crowded your sailing will be.

Which boat is better for wheelchairs?

Both operators say their boats are accessible. Maid of the Mist cites ADA access and an included elevator, and Niagara City Cruises cites AODA ramps and elevators and an interior designed for wheelchairs and strollers. Neither page states a cap on wheelchairs per sailing, so groups should call ahead.

Which boat gets you wetter?

No source measures this. Maid of the Mist says its boats have no enclosed area and that the lower rear deck tends to stay driest. Niagara City Cruises describes open-air and covered viewing areas. Visitor accounts say you get wet on both, with legs and feet taking the most spray.

Is there a night boat tour?

Only in Canada. Niagara City Cruises runs a Falls Fireworks Cruise of about 40 minutes on select evenings, but its page lists no dates. After sunset its boats go only to the outer edge of the Horseshoe Falls. Maid of the Mist has no evening sailing in its published hours.

Can I ride both boats in one day?

It is possible in principle, but it needs a border crossing in each direction and enough time for two lines. Maid of the Mist closes between 4:00 pm and 8:00 pm in 2026, depending on the date. Our Canada vs USA page sets out a time budget.

Is Hornblower the same as Niagara City Cruises?

Yes. Hornblower Niagara Cruises is the former name of Niagara City Cruises, which runs the Voyage to the Falls. The exact date of the rename is only loosely sourced, with listings giving 2021, and the Hornblower name still appears on older signs, articles and forum threads.

Want the falls without the logistics?

Our shared day tour from Toronto runs daily from $89.99 per adult, with an optional boat ride into the mist. Need a private tour? Request a quote.

Book the day tourPrivate tour quote